Status details for Unitary Authority

Status:Unitary Authority
Number of units in system:
Geographical Level: 8 (Higher-level District)
ADL Feature Type:countries, 3rd order divisions
Is a status within:District/Unitary Authority

Full Description:

The purpose of the Unitary Authorities was the administration of all areas of local government within a single tier for a given area. They exist alongside the Metropolitan and Non-Metropolitan counties. They were created between 1995-1998 in England where there are currently 46. In Wales 22 were created following the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 which came into effect in April 1996, eight of these retained their County Borough status.